Materials / Printers, Inks & Paint
Printers, Inks & Paint prices
Wide-format printers, UV/solvent/latex inks, and sign paints and enamels.
Printing ink manufacturing
+3.6%
YoY · +5.7% since Jan 2025 · Sep 2026
Sign manufacturing (finished signs)
+0.3%
YoY · +2.0% since Jan 2025
Price index since 2019
Printing ink manufacturing (PCU325910325910)Sign manufacturing (PCU339950339950)
Rebased: each line = 100 at Jan 2019. Hover a point for the raw FRED index value. Source: U.S. BLS Producer Price Index / IMF via FRED.
What it means for your quotes
Printing ink manufacturing is +3.6% over the past year and +5.7% since January 2025, while finished-sign prices are +0.3% and +2.0%. Input costs are outrunning what the market is paying for signs, so quotes priced off last year's material costs are likely to lose margin. The log below holds 6 US supplier notices with a stated %, the largest being Epson at +24% (All Epson products (printers, ink, parts, warranties)). Check effective dates before you hold a quote open.
Index series used on this page
- PCU325910325910: Printing ink manufacturing (industry PPI) (Index Jun 1984=100). Used for: Wide-format ink proxy.
Supplier price-increase log (14)
| Supplier | Product | Change | Announced | Effective | Region | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epson | EcoSolvent inks (SureColor S-series) ~7%; water-based inks ~5% EUROPE: German distributor Luzar update; US pricing may differ | +5-7% | Jun 18, 2026 | Jul 1, 2026 | EU | source |
| One Shot | One Shot lettering enamels Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date) | +5% | May 4, 2026 | Jul 1, 2026 | US | source |
| Roland DG | Roland products Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date); % not in title (German distributor OVOL lists Roland ink ~6%, hardware ~5% same date) | not stated | May 1, 2026 | Jun 1, 2026 | US | source |
| Matthews Paint | Sign paint Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date) | +5% | May 1, 2026 | Jul 1, 2026 | US | source |
| Marabu | All Marabu inks Second 2025 Marabu increase (first effective 2025-05-05); % not published on APC log | not stated | Sep 3, 2025 | Sep 8, 2025 | US | source |
| Mutoh | Select printers, starter inks, parts and consumables Price increase; % not published on APC log | not stated | Aug 7, 2025 | Sep 7, 2025 | US | source |
| Roland DG | Roland printers/inks (tariff charge) Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date); tariff charge | +10% | May 6, 2025 | Jun 1, 2025 | US | source |
| Epson | Select products Price increase after the April rescission; % not published on APC log | not stated | Apr 29, 2025 | Jun 1, 2025 | US | source |
| Mimaki USA | Machines, inks, parts and maintenance items Price increase; % not published on APC log | not stated | Apr 22, 2025 | Jun 1, 2025 | US | source |
| HP | HP Stitch printers and ink Price increase; % not published on APC log | not stated | Apr 21, 2025 | May 4, 2025 | US | source |
| INX Digital (Triangle Inks) | Digital UV, solvent and water-based inks Line-item tariff; % not published on APC log | not stated | Apr 7, 2025 | May 1, 2025 | US | source |
| Epson | All Epson products (printers, ink, parts, warranties) Tariff increase announced effective immediately; RESCINDED 2025-04-10 after the 90-day reciprocal tariff pause (per Grimco notice and APC tariff log) | +24% rescinded | Apr 6, 2025 | Apr 6, 2025 | US | source |
| Ronan Paint | Sign paint Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date) | +4% | Jan 23, 2025 | Feb 1, 2025 | US | source |
| Matthews Paint | Sign paint (all Matthews) Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date) | +4% | Jan 16, 2025 | Mar 1, 2025 | US | source |
Sponsor slot — available. Advertise on SignCost Index